ONL 171

The come and go of digital literacy

emile-perron-190221
Reading code isn’t for everyone. But does everyone need to read it?
I started this blog while reading the article White & Le Cornu (2011). Some of the thoughts presented were what was felt while reading the article. 

Ah, being told “you can use technology because you’re young” gets tiring very easily. I always just wanted to say no, I invested my time in being able to use a variety of different technologies in my personal and professional life. Instead I just said I’m just very lucky to be around technology from a young age. But in the end, I got to the point where I was the only one able to teach the public in my previous position because no one else wanted to, or more importantly, wanted to learn more than they needed to be able to teach. Until I went on a years leave and my colleagues turned to themselves and go what do we do? They learnt.

I liked the theory of whether learning technologies is similar to learning a language – I fully agree with this, however I also believe that you learn as much as you need to learn, as with learning any second language. I learnt a little bit of Korean while spending my year there. I learnt enough to travel, to get to places and be able to ask for food and things if needed. I did not end up fluent as I didn’t need to be. I believe it’s the same way with being digitally literate. You learn as much as you need to use, and why not?

I do agree with the idea that was presented with digital visitors and residents and how it’s a continuum rather than an either or. I also agreed with the idea behind that just because you can use one piece of technology, doesn’t mean that it can always correlate to another.

White, D. & Le Cornu, A. (2011) Visitors and residents: A new typology for online engagement. First Monday, 16(9).
1 thought on “The come and go of digital literacy”

Leave a Reply

