ONL 171

The pause before we continue

This photo is of Taehwa River (태화강) in Ulsan (울산), South Korea in Autumn – the time where we can see change the most.

So as the final week of the ONL, it’s time for reflection on the process, the engagement and the thoughts that have been generated by this course.

  1. It’s not about digital technology – it just makes it different
    I think when the words “online” appear, most just think about how technology will aide/inhibit people, or we must use it all to show we’re using technology. I think a good way to think about the teaching-learning process is the way you teach to bring in skills that the students have – no student/learner is a blank slate. Technology is just another tool to engage with the content. Using the different tools available can portray the information differently and giving people the scaffolding to choose the right tools for the right job will be more interesting than everyone using the same thing again and again. Ensuring that the learners can see how the content is related to their practice is more important than using the Prezi or an infographic. It can definately enhance the engagement, but the goal is not to successfully use the technology – it’s to successfully use the technology to support the content.
  2. Libraries have a different skill set to teach
    One of the key reasons I joined this was to find out the ways that libraries can support learning through learning how the lectures/tutors/teachers use the resources we offer. Instead I found myself reflecting on how this can all be used in the library. After all, libraries are teaching people how to research, how to reference and how to find credible resources. One of the key ways I want to change my practice in libraries is find engaging, blended ways to teach those skills. During this time with ONL, I’ve had a couple of conversations with liaison librarians and how they would like to change the information to be more than “read this”. It also makes me very happy when I did hear that others are trying to work on this and I want to collaborate with others to support them in enhancing the resources they already have and make it engaging.
  3. Working like this really worked for me
    After taking 4 and a half years to complete my Masters in my Librarianship, I still struggle to engage with the content, as most of the time it’s read this, do this. The engagement and the personal connection that I’ve had with my PBL group has worked really well for me.  I ended up doing way more work for ONL than I did my own studies as it was more engaging, I felt like I was learning more and the conversations we had were engaging and I learnt a lot. While I know I am the quieter one and prefer to listen, I felt comfortable enough with the group to speak up when I needed to.

It’s just a pause before we all continue as we can constantly pause and reflect on what we’ve done, what we’re doing and what we can do to ensure we’re making the best of everything.

3 thoughts on “The pause before we continue”

  1. I am very inspired by your desire to give the librarian skills to others using blended learning. I have never had any introduction to the library options using video or audio recording. I am also glad that in your PBL the others were curious about the blended librarian learning. Looking forward to hear from you! Maybe you will be the first one who will develop such kind of learning in library sciences.

    Like

  2. Great to read about your ambitions to shape a great learning relationship with us teachers. It is a common project to create good education. I have for many years engaged in making our librarians an integral part of our programmes. It is challenging, but rewarding. I also believe that the technologies evolving are tools to support our work, not direct it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

